- Municipal Court
• Read your ticket carefully and check the appropriate box, sign your name and update your address, if necessary. Mail your infraction to the court at 806 W Main Monroe WA 98272.
• You must respond within 15 days from date of issuance either in person or by mail.
• If you fail to respond within 15 days a late fee will be assessed and the Department of Licensing may be notified, which may result in the suspension of your license.
• Your ticket will be referred to collections where additional fees and interest will be assessed.
There are three ways you can respond to your infraction:
• Enclose a check or money order, in U.S. funds, for the amount listed on your infraction and mail it to Monroe Municipal Court at 806 W Main Monroe WA 98272.
• Pay at Monroe Municipal Court, the court will accept cash, check, debit or credit card.
• Pay over the phone or online using the Pay Your Fine link with a debit or credit card. During court hours (8:00 AM to 12:00 PM and 1:00 PM to 5:00 PM) please call 360-863-4548. You understand that the infraction, if traffic related, will appear on your driving record.
A mitigation hearing is a hearing to explain the circumstances, but you have agreed that you have committed the infraction. You understand the infraction, if traffic related, will appear on your driving record. To request a hearing you can mail your request to the court and a court date will be mailed to you. If you already have a hearing date and you choose not to appear in person you may submit a mitigation hearing by mail form.
You may seek a deferred finding if you are eligible
YOU ARE ELIGIBLE FOR A DEFERRED FINDING IF:
• You do not have a commercial driver’s license (CDL).
• You do have a valid Washington license.
• You do not have any other infraction deferrals in the past seven (7) years in the state of Washington.
Note: Failure to provide proof of insurance tickets are not eligible for a deferred finding.
The Judge will decide whether to grant a deferred finding. If granted, you will be required to pay an administrative fee which is equal to the penalty amount of the citation for which a deferred finding is being requested. If eligible for a deferred finding the case will be dismissed and closed upon receipt of the administrative fee.
A contested hearing is a hearing where you challenge the infraction. You are stating that you did not commit the alleged infraction. The City must prove by a preponderance of the evidence that you committed the infraction. To request a hearing you can mail your request to the court and a court date will be mailed to you.
If you already have a hearing date you may subpoena witnesses, including the officer, to attend the hearing. The court will provide instructions on how to request a witness’s presence. You may request discovery regarding the alleged infraction from the Prosecutor's office (Zachor, Stock & Krepps). You understand the infraction, if traffic related, will appear on your driving records if it is found committed.
If you choose not to appear in person you may submit a contested hearing by mail form.